The current version is version 1.0.4, last updated on 21 March 2001.
The rule book for the Doctor Who Collectible Card Game is thin, incomplete, and contradictory. To avoid massive disputes mid-game, some kind of additional and clarifying rules must be compiled before playing; this FAQ represents the collected judgement of the players at the Doctor Who Club of Victoria as well as other sources. You may well find disagreements with parts of it; for example, I know one group that massively deprecates the ‘Particle Suppressor’ card. They have a technically alright argument based on other CCG precedents, but I feel their decision weakens the game as a whole.
There are other decisions made below to ‘correct’ some cards that would otherwise have too much, or too little, power (ie. limiting ‘Vorum Gas’). This FAQ has reached its current status via the playing of many many games, and can be taken as well play-tested. Having said that, if you have a specific suggestion, feel free to email me!
A Microsoft Word version of the FAQ (which fits onto one A4 sheet) can also be downloaded here.
You may also wish to look at my Doctor Who CCG tips, to see how the theory from this page becomes practice once I play.
Finally, if you want a second opinion on the rules, I suggest you visit Alternate Worlds.
Describe the order of a turn.
1) Un-side cards as appropriate.
2) Choose a zone.
3) Draw a card.
4) Play a card, or (optionally) two if you are in your bonus zone.
5) Play an episode, and/or resolve one that has been played on you.
6) Do stuff like combat or siding cards. If players want to use conflicting cards (ie. both players want to use their Fendahleens to side the other’s Fendahleen), then the person whose turn it is gets precedence.
7) If it is your bonus zone and you did not play two cards, draw a second card.
8) Declare end of turn (ie. flashes may be played after drawing the bonus card).
Describe the order of an attack.
1) Player declares an attack, choosing one of their creatures as the main combatant. They then target a particular (non-sided) opponent creature in play or the opponent zone.
2) If the zone is attacked, the defender can choose a non-sided creature to defend, or alternately let the attack go through. They can time travel a creature into the zone to defend.
3) Now both players decide on any support creatures; the defender gets to determine their support after the attacker if they wish. Similarly, both attacker and defender can side resources/creatures (ie. a Fendahleen) in the CTZ to affect battle participants..
How do we rule on the timing of playing cards?
This is not a reflex game — opponents should always get the chance to react to the playing of a resource/flash card/etc. For example, you can ‘Kartz & Reimer’ an attacker once that attacker is named; you need not have got in first. Or you can ‘Time Barrier’ two zones when someone plays a time travel card.
This does not mean you can get one more use out of, say, a cyber-bombed resource, as that is not a direct response to the attack upon it.
When/where can cards play/have effects?
Flash cards can be played in any zone. Tabled cards can only be sided when in the CTZ. Unless specifically stated on the card or in these rules, these only take effect in the CTZ (ie. Demat Gun says ‘Destroy one card in play. You must Side a Time Lord to use’ and thus can attack a card in any zone. The Time Lord, however, must come from the CTZ as a wider field is not explicitly stated).
Note that some cards with effects (ie. Highlanders, who ‘stand target creature’) do not specify which side they affect. Therefore you can use this to stand one of your cards (so it can both attack and use an ability in the one turn) or stand an enemy (so you can kill it!). Again, unless specified (with, say, ‘your creatures’), cards affect both sides of a CTZ.
What are the rules on episodes?
Episodes can only be played on an opponent with a non-Watcher card in all zones. Only one episode can be played on a player at once. Episodes must be solved, or will take effect, immediately after the playing-of-cards stage. Solver may side creatures from any and all zones during their turn to solve the episode. Creatures can be sided to solve episodes immediately after they are placed.
What does ‘greater than Energy 1 & Substance 1’ (and the like) mean?
Several situations only affect creatures that have energy and/or substance greater than a certain amount. While the grammar on the relevant cards varies, DWCV house ruling is that E1/S2 or E2/S1 is greater than E1/S1. Creatures of E0/S2 or E2/S0 shall not be treated as greater then E1/S1, as one stat is less than 1. Also, the stats considered are those that are shown on the card — ignore any temporary changes.
Does the term ‘Unique’ denote a race?
No. Similarly, Watcher cards have no race, therefore making them immune to a number of flash cards.
How many Doctors can I have in my deck/on the table at once?
Treat each Doctor card as a different card; therefore, you can have up to four of each Doctor in your deck, and up to one of each Doctor on the table.
How much damage can a card take?
If both energy and substance are reduced to zero or less, that creature dies. Note that the defender is given the chance to boost the stats of the damaged creature.
If a creature is moved to a different zone while attacking or siding, does the attack or siding continue?
No. As it is now not in the CTZ, it can not be used.
If an attack is aborted (ie. the main attacker is cyberbombed), do supporting creatures remain sided?
No, as no attack took place. Similarly, the other main combatant does not side.
If I take a hit and turn over a new time card of the same colour, do I take another hit (as per page 18 of the rules)?
No, it’s a silly rule!
A turn is the game time taken to play by one player; for clarity’s sake, call the time for both to play a round.
Players should explicitly acknowledge when their turn ends (to avoid problems on which turn a flash card occurred, for example). The opponent should be given a chance to acknowledge the turn is over — or play their time acceleration card, for example…
You can not use time travel cards or the like to ‘steal’ cards from your opponent.
Episodes can be time traveled by The Master’s Presence (and destroyed by Time Winds); they can also be destroyed by a Demat Gun.
When copying stats from other cards, take what it says on the card, not any boosted value.
Damage is reduction of stats of a creature.
Some cards which boost their mates are poorly written, and appear to boost themselves (ie. Greek Hoplites, Emperor of Draconia). They don’t.
Treat the Adric card as a typo, and pretend it has an ∞ on it.
The sided creature can also not defend or attack; treat Alpha as a Fendahleen.
Brothers of Demnos
Note that the number of Brothers includes your opponent’s ones as well.
Where it says ‘Cybermen’ are to be stat-boosted/killed/etc, this shall be taken to also include Cyberleaders and Cybercontrollers (but not Cybermats).
You can use the special ability of the trapped card in future turns as well. To use the ability of a trapped card, it must have been in play for a round already.
The energy reduction ability is damage.
Only must attack when in the CTZ. Can not attack on the turn it is played down, like any other creature.
The retrieved Doctor or Companion goes to your hand.
It is not the same as the Sisterhood, as it must be sided to prevent death.
’Sacrifice to regenerate any Doctor’. Take to mean you can retrieve a Doctor from your discard pile to your hand.
The +1E/+1S may go to any card, not just Lytton (bad grammar on card).
If defeated while attacking as a horde, only one Mongol is lost (not all 3+).
Read as the ‘following round’, not the ‘following turn’.
Doctor must be in play (not in hand) when Peri is threatened. May just have been played.
You can lie about what card you have/will play next. You just won’t be able to play it!
Note that the Rani can merge your opponent’s cards. Merged cards must be involved in combat to die, and the person whose cards are merged gets the choice of who dies (and then may use Elixirs of Life or the like).
As it needs to be sided to apply its special ability, arrives at new zone sided.
Trench need not be sided to provide the soldier with +1S.
Ancient Law of Gallifrey
Return the most recent card played to hand, whether it be yours or theirs; returns the TARDIS/SIDRAT to its most recent departure zone.
If placed on Tetraps, a hit is not taken until the Tetraps are revealed (can’t see this happening too often, setting up yourself to take a hit, but could be a tricky double-bluff!)
Cyber bombs can not destroy flash or episode cards!
Fast Return Switch
Do not immediately start a new turn. Finish your current turn then have another, or let the opponent finish theirs then take two turns. If the opposing player plays this card as well, take two turns and then let them have two turns.
Elixir of Life, etc, doesn’t save the creature from being discarded — it never existed in the first place!
The Game of Rassilon
If a draw occurs, both cards return to their owner’s hands. Defeated creatures may be saved by an Elixir of Life and thus return to the owner’s hand instead of being discarded.
The creature sided must be yours and in the same zone.
Protects a TARDIS; ie. it works for one TARDIS only.
Keeper of Traken
You can play the extra card only during your regular card-playing phase.
Can not be used to destroy a creature attacking an undefended zone (there is no combat per se).
You may play the reversed card if you wish but must do so immediately.
Random Laser Beam Emitter
You can’t sacrifice your opponent’s cards when this gets played on you!
The Time Lord sided should be yours and in the CTZ — otherwise, how could he move?
Death is an ‘effect’ and thus can be stopped.
Eye of Harmony
The Rod of Rassilon sided need not be yours. It must be in the CTZ though.
If relevant, the defender gets to choose which stat to lower after the attacker.
Keeps creature alive for a turn, not a round (see ‘Other Notes’). So if you play it during your turn, the creature will die at the end of your opponent’s next turn (or if you play a fast return switch, after your bonus turn).
May travel with no passengers.
The hit inflicted on its owner occurs after the bonus turn is taken.
Unlike Cryogenics, the protected creatures can still defend the zone.
The creature sided must be yours.
You can only zap creatures in the CTZ (DWCV house ruling to avoid making this the ultimate card…)
As with all resources, can only be activated if it is in the CTZ.
Ark in Space
The race chosen may be different each turn. Creatures ‘out of play’ do not count towards the maximum number of cards in the zone. You could therefore stack up to 12 cards in a zone — but if the episode is solved, you must dispose of cards to bring your total back to 6 cards. This can be done by time travel as well as by dumping to your discard pile.
Curse of Fenric
You can split support from one creature — ie. one 3 support creature can save three other characters. A creature can not support itself.
The Faceless Ones
Creatures kidnapped do not count towards the maximum number of cards in the zone.
Vengeance on Varos
Opponent may go freely through the solver’s discard pile to find the creature to swap.
Here’s the list of the Doctor Who articles available here
→ A Bit of Adric in All of Us
→ Ace Timeline
→ Cursed References
→ Doctor Who Collectible Card Game FAQ
→ Doctor Who Collectible Card Game Tips
→ Doctor Who in America
→ History of the Daleks
→ History of Doctor Who
→ History of the fanzine Sonic Screwdriver
→ How I Killed a Fanzine (or, What’s an EFG?)
→ Survival the (Con)vention
→ The Doctor and I (First Memories)
→ The Doctor and I (1985 — Move to the USA)
→ The Doctor and I (Organised Fandom? Huh?)
→ The Doctor and I (Doctorin’ Ithaca)
→ The Doctor and I (Back to Melbourne)
→ The Doctor and I (Whovention)
→ The Doctor and I (David, Meet the DWCV)
→ The Doctor and I (Enlightenment)
→ The Doctor and I (The Blankety Blank Era)
→ The Doctor and I (Q Who)
→ The Doctor and I (DWCV Committee, Meet David)
→ The Doctor and I (Whovention II (Control))
→ The Doctor and I (Sonic Screwdriver, Meet David (and Marco and Matthew))
→ The Relative Confusion of The Curse of Fenric
→ What Makes a Warrior?
→ What’s in a Name?
→ Or just head back to the Doctor Who Index
This page last updated by David J Richardson on Sun, 27 Apr 2003.